Saturday, February 5, 2011

Stairway to 7

        When I first moved up here to Out-There, Pennsyltucky, my neighbor told me, "You're in Steeler's country now!" to which I replied, "Honey, I ain't from this country!"
        Some time later, she called me and she was crying, "Ben's been hurt! He was in a motorcycle accident!"
       "Ben who?"
       "Rothlisberger!" ( I probably murdered the spelling)
       Exasperated I said, "Are you freakin kiddin me?"
       I mean, she is seriously crying because this quarterback got himself hurt...
       I was never a fan of football, but if I was, it would have been the REDSKINS. (Hail! oh Hail!)
        Like I said, I am not from Steeler's country, I am Maryland born and bred and for the longest time, before the Cleveland Browns farted out the Ravens, the closest thing Maryland had to a team was DC's pride and joy... so, at the very least, I now tell people I am "football challenged."
       Then, Ben started doing some very naughty things and for real, this turned me emphatically against him and I decided to boycott the team completely. When the Steeler's came on, I turned the channel.
      You get a wide range of responses to that mess up here. The womenfolk take it a lot harder than the men. But, in time, I have come to see the problem, while he is a really rotten human being, apparently, BIG Ben is an excellent quarterback... that sucks! Cause, if he didn't do his job so damned well, they might have actually got rid of his a$$. (and, he would probably be in jail!)
       Soooo, all around me, it looks like the football deity $#!+ a Steeler's team! Its crazy! The only person I saw not dressed in Steeler's drag yesterday... was me! The school, the grocery store, the post office, the beer store! OMG! They're everywhere! I gotta give it to em, these Pennsyltukian's are loyal to their team, and they go all out to express it!
       The hospital emergency room is decorated in banners and flags and terrible towels... and I said, "Heaven's forbid if a bus full of REDSKINS wrecked near here, they'd be $#!+ outta luck!" I dressed our new baby in burgundy and gold, (simply to mess with his daddy's daddy), but the nurse walked in and gasped, "Oh my Lord! Look what they've done to that poor baby!"
      So, in order to spend more "we" time with my lover man, I decided to have "football" time every weekend. I make "football" food and yell "football" stuff like, "GIT THAT SUM BOTCH! GIT IM!!!!!"
      ...and at first, my team was, the CAROLINA GAMECOCKS! Yee Haw! Like I told Leslie, "Honey, for me, it ain't about the football, its about the CHICKEN!"
        But eventually I had to give in and allow the Steeler's, (Ben and all) into my living room. I have lived here 20 years now and for all that time, I have been surrounded by the Steeler's nation... I guess I need to adapt to the "country" I live in! bahaha
       Billy loves to watch em play and he has actually become a fan. His other team was the Philedelphia Eagles, but sort of like me with the Gamecocks, it was for the bird, not the team!
       He wants to know what I want for Valentines Day. A puppy? A couple more Cichlids? Flowers? Candy? I said, "Nope, just get me a Steeler's Jersey so I don't feel so outta place! I mean for real, I go to the grocery store and feel like I am sittin neked in a church pew!
     So, this is it, my first blogger blog, a tribute to the Steeler's! Who'd a thunk it!

2 comments:

  1. Hey now it's about time...readin' it :) a fun blog.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Love it! I guess sometimes you have to adapt to your surroundings.

    I, personally am a FOREVER Die Hard Redskins fan and I fully believe if I said anything different my mother would come up out the grave after me!

    Sadly I will not be swinging the black and Gold with you today as my second most favorite team EVER is Greenbay so I will be pushin the cheese.

    Welcome to the world of Football and I love you puttin that baby boy in the burgundy and gold, its a rite of passage! LOL...enjoy the Bowl today..it should be a GREAT game!

    So Glad you finally decided to write! Can't wait to see what's next!!

    ReplyDelete